Communication Plan

North Star Communication Plan

As partners in our students’ education, we recognize the critical importance of clear and effective communication.  We wanted to take this opportunity to share some of the various forms of communication that we use here at North Star and how you can help us ensure we have your accurate contact information.  

Please ensure that email addresses, phone numbers and addresses are updated in Power School. We use this information to communicate with you by sending pertinent emails, making phone calls and occasionally sending mail. We rely on parents/guardians to keep all Power School information up to date. 

In addition to email communication, our website www.northstarcharter.org includes important information such as  staff directory, events, forms etc. We also keep live calendars that highlight events, days off and athletics.  

School wide alerts or time-sensitive urgent communications (i.e. bussing issues, emergencies, snow days, etc.) will be communicated via text message for immediate dissemination. 

We use both Facebook and Instagram for information about school events, calendar items, to highlight North Star students, club, team and teacher achievements. 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Northstarcharterschool

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/northstarcharterschool/

In the event that you cannot locate information on our website, we have created a chart below that should guide you through any communication needs you may have.

CONTACTS

Attendance

For elementary campus, email
mnilsson@northstarcharter.org
208-939-6090 X 1, then 1

For secondary campus, email
secondarysecondary@northstarcharter.org
208-939-6090 X 1, then 2

PTO

PTO president:
Dr. Maria Siruek
ptonnorthstar@gmail.com

Concerns regarding student behavior or academics

Start with your child’s teacher, then to administrator if not resolved:

Grades K-5:
Shay Davis- K-5 Principal
sdavis@northstarcharter.org

Laiena Leatherman- K-5 Vice Principal
lleatherman@nothstarcharter.org

Grades 6-8:
Will Bogdanoff- Middle School Vice Principal
wbogdanoff@northstarcharter.org

Grades 9-12:
Andy Horning- Head of School, High School Principal
ahorning@northstarcharter.org

Career & College Information

Counseling and other social/emotional needs

School counselors:
Danica Holladay
Grades K-5: dholladay@northstarcharter.org

Milton Pettit
Grades 6-12: mpettit@northstarcharter.org

Power School- Registrars

Grades K-5
Jennifer Gibron
jgibron@northstarcharter.org

Grades 6-12
Ruth Ann Fahl
rfahl@northstarcharter.org

Business Office/Full Day Kinder Fees

School Board

Board Clerk
Sheri Craig
scraig@northstarcharter.org

Human Resources

Transportation

Joy Britton at Brown Bus Company
j.britton@brownbuscompany.com